In Tuxtla for a few hours, despues a Salina Cruz - Reisverslag uit Mérida, Mexico van mariekeindevs - WaarBenJij.nu In Tuxtla for a few hours, despues a Salina Cruz - Reisverslag uit Mérida, Mexico van mariekeindevs - WaarBenJij.nu

In Tuxtla for a few hours, despues a Salina Cruz

Door: Marieke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

27 Juli 2005 | Mexico, Mérida

¡Hola! How are u doing? I feel so good: feel as if I`ve got all of world`s time. Wowie, lucky me! I am sitting in an internetcafe in Tuxtla Gutiérrez right now, waiting a bit till night comes around so I can take my nightbus to Salina Cruz. A little city on the Pacific Coast, not touristy but haha, I guess that has a reason. Well, I will see what the city offers me. I think I am going to visit Tehuantepec for a few hours on my way from after Salina Cruz to Oaxaca.
How did I get here? Really liked staying in Merida with Anneleen and Irene: was so relaxed but also happy to travel on again. So Wednesday I took the bus to Palenque and those 8 hours were over before I knew it, funny: we had a lot of stops especially for the driver`s appetite :). Found a nice posada and evening went by with some exploring of the city and chatting with Mexicans: I felt so good! Although the food gives me a bad stomach sometimes, also in Palenque.. Next day with a tour to the ruins, met Samad and Erica and with them I spend the past few days: we just couldn`t stop talking so really enjoyed their company! Haven`t been able to spot some monkeys on the ruins, but wasn`t necessary because also without those animals the ruins in the jungle were great! Lots of people but also lots of space and liked the quiet museum a lot too. After that to Misol Ha: a high, relatively small waterfall with clear water. Tried some pozol at one of the stands but did not like this corndrink :(, :)! After that we visited Agua Azul, nowhere was blue water to be found but did not matter: I had so much fun playing in the currents of the waterfalls. Agua Azul has a lot of waterfalls, falling on eachother instead of way high from a rock, at least in the lower part this is the case. In de evening did some tourist shopping with Erica and bought myself a real lovely touristic Mexican skirt. Loved this day!
Friday the three of us took a bus to San Christobal: 2000 meter high and when we got there I did not feel to well of all the steep curves, gosh I was soo nauseous. Next to that it was cold and rained the first two days: wet clothes and humid rooms so no place to dry: what a fun... I really got grumpy some moments, but of course I was also very happy to be there: what a beautiful city and loved to see the hills amidst the clouds!! Beautiful and colourful houses, clean, one very impressive church near the hostel: Great. And last day it didn´t rain: yoehoe!
First day I visited a Mayan Medical Museum: interesting things, mainly interested in way of giving birth to a child: men form part of the event too! Sunday Erica and I visited two towns nearby to see differences in religion, dress and bit way of living in the region. Sunday night was a fiesta of San Christobal: behind the church was a band and all sorts of little stands with food, there was even a little fair! The Church of San Christobal is situated on top a hill and some people did not make it to total end downstairs: toooo drunk, so were lying on the stairs... Samad, Erica and I were sober and had a lot of fun and danced two hours straight. Yesterday did some jamming with a guy Samad met the day before: funny. And more exploring of the city.
Today I did a tour to the canion of Sumidero after wich i travelled to Tuxtla. Well, I guess that brings me to the end of this big story: forgot both my cd with pictures as the cable for my camera so next time I try to put some pictures with this story. Only 4 weeks left... time flies! But enjoy everything even more intense because of that and maybe I will see Joachim in Merida: yoeheee! Big kisses, love :)

  • 26 Juli 2005 - 22:42

    Linda:

    Joehoe!!
    Nou heeeeeeeel veel plezier nog, ook met Joachim! Ben wel benieuwd..hihi!!Tot over een maandje ofzo!!
    Kus

  • 27 Juli 2005 - 09:40

    Coenie:

    Hi dear Marieke! What a wonderful story! I am happy that you're enjoying yourself, I'm a little jealous as well... Great that Joachim is going to visit you, isn't that a good sign, ;)? Keep this happy feeling and enjoy the rest of your time! Big kiss and love, Corien

  • 27 Juli 2005 - 13:34

    Mc:

    Heeey liefie! Hahahaha soooo leuk om je verhalen te lezen cause its all coming back to me :-D. Maar, verder dan de Canyon bij Tuxtla ben ik nooit gekomen dus vanaf hier moet je het in je eentje doen ;). Mis je heel erg, ook afgelopen zaterdag (reunion with the gals, leuk!) dus die vier weken kunnen mij niet snel genoeg gaan (ugh, het betekent ook dat ik over vier weken 2 tentamens heb, micro+intern.economie, yuk!)... echo de menos a ti (??) muchissimo! veel plezier met Marieke en Joachim! Geniet! XXXXXXX

  • 27 Juli 2005 - 15:11

    Boukje:

    Hoi Mariekje!!
    Poehé, wat maak jij een hoop mee in korte tijd!! Wat een avonturen!! En al die ontmoetingen!! Heel bijzonder en speciaal!! Dat vrije gevoel als je aan het reizen bent......super!!maak veel plezier, ontmoet zo veel mogelijk mensen en geniet ervan!(Ik geniet met je mee door al je enthousiaste verhalen...)kus!

  • 27 Juli 2005 - 15:39

    Anne:

    Hé Mieppie, zo leuk je weer even gesproken te hebben. Je klonk goed en als ik dit alles lees begrijp ik ook wel waarom. Geniet nog maar even. Je doet ook mij eraan denken dat ik over 2,5 week alweer een her heb, maar dat komt goed. Ben benieuwd of je nog bruiner wordt, je kunt gewoon niet wit zijn. Ik zie het over een kleine vier weken!! Dikke X van je zus

  • 02 Augustus 2005 - 08:41

    Anne:

    Hoi Mieppie, daar ben ik weer. Even laten weten dat het leuke foto's zijn. Geniet nog maar lekker maar dat moet wel lukken met zoveel mooie dingen om he heen. X

  • 02 Augustus 2005 - 12:15

    Wendy:

    Poeh he: bruin!!
    Zo, nu snel even al je fotoos door om joachim te spotten...hahaha.

    xwen

  • 03 Augustus 2005 - 16:53

    Thomas:

    Yoooooo Miep,

    Was erg leuk om met je te msnen, fantastisch om je weer te zien. Ontzettend bruine kop ook, je lijkt wel in de modder gevallen!!! Geniet van de komende weken, maar dat kunnen we wel aan jou overlaten.

    Veel liefs,

    tv

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 186
Totaal aantal bezoekers 29246

Voorgaande reizen:

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: